RSS Feed

The Bucket List – a life coach’s perspective

Posted on

I’m a life coach… how could I not love a movie that is built on the concept of a list called “The things I want to do before I kick the bucket.” Brilliant! 

Some of you know that, when being coached, I might say:
 “Imagine you’re sitting in a rocking chair at age 95 or 104, looking back on your life.
  You’re feeling fabulous because you are so grateful that you ____  & ____  etc..  
  Tell me, what do you want those blanks to say?”

I went to the movie intentionally watching for its ability to inspire people to create a Bucket List.  Without revealing the whole story, I wasn’t all that far into the movie when I thought, “OH NO!” I probably even spoke that thought out loud.. since we were at “Stars and Strollers” with a few mom’s, a dad, a grand pair of grandparents, and babies who are welcome to cry or interrupt. So I may have actually exclaimed “Oh no!”  quite comfortably in that setting.

Why the “OH NO”?  In the movie, the list is created, and then, lo and behold, one person has endless amounts of money. I could see immediately that audience members who could have been inspired to do the list, might at that point think, “Ya, as if we all have billions of dollars.”  That wee little thought has the potential to stop a person from seeing the possibilities in creating a Bucket List.  They might not even notice that some of the things on the list didn’t require money.  AND, people may even miss the magic! –  simply by creating the list and meaning it…. well, ‘things’ just start to align themselves, even in the strangest ways, to make the dream come true.  

Okay, I admit, it’s not so simple to create a clear and effective Bucket List that magically brings these things to you, when you aren’t knowlingly living the last year of your life.  Edward and Carter, the characters in the movie, would be way past worrying about all the things that once ‘mattered’ once they knew they were dying. Most certainly the things they once thought significant, would have become ‘ mind clutter not worthy of attention.’  But still, the concept of writing a Bucket List is brilliant, clarifying, thought provoking and empowering.  Go ahead, give it a shot. And to get rid of one barrier, tell yourself, “if money were not a factor, I would____ & _______& ______, etc.

About Janet

Artist/writer with a tall ship and mystical twist, Certified Professional Life Coach (ICA), Master Kaizen-Muse Creativity Coach (KMCC), empowerment workshop leader and creativity group facilitator trainer. Outdoor enthusiast and Tall Ship sailor. Healed from breast cancer using her own tools of play, lightness, creativity, nature, thinking differently and visualization to speed the healing, and ever ever so grateful for all the wondrous people she is surrounded by.

2 responses »

  1. Janet, you are amazing. I seem to add that every time I write you, but that’s because you are! Love the thought processing that went on in this blog.Today I re-arranged the house somewhat and starting getting rid of lots of stuff, felt good. The interesting this is, I opened a file (in amongst a huge pile), opened it, and what do I find…3 page list of things I want to do in my life. Great to re-read it, and still lots of the same interests and I even got to check a couple off which surprised me. Funny how these things happen 🙂 no coincidence. Thanks for your inspiration and getting me through my ‘stuckness’. such a great coach. Talk to you soon, Nicoli

    Reply
  2. I completely agree with your statement “simply by creating the list and meaning it…. well, ‘things’ just start to align themselves, even in the strangest ways, to make the dream come true”! This is so true! I recently followed one of my dreams, to start a buisness and publish and idea that I’ve had for many years: a photo journal series (Dream List Photo Journals). You personalize the journals with your dream list/bucket list and record your accomplished dreams. You can see them on my website, http://www.dreamlistmedia.com. Would love to hear from you when you have time. I wish you all the best on your bucket list!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

