RSS Feed

The Land of Faerie Chimneys and Beautiful Horses

Posted on
Grand Bazaar Istanbul, I'm so at home!

Grand Bazaar Istanbul, I'm so at home here!

Sitting in an internet cafe looking out at the most extraordinary village….  picture fantastical flinstones.. and you’ll start to get the picture.  Am in Goreme, Turkey…  home of Faerie Chimneys – these are land formations that I can’t even begin to describe.   History is admittedly sketchy.   Once thought that monks moved in, and lit candles at night.. the villagers then thought the faeries (which seems the same as ‘ghosts’ here) were living in the pillars.   In only three days, I’ve seen so much.  So great to see my wandering daughter, who has taught me already that we don’t need showers nor clean clothes.. ever.   It’s all coming back to me from my backpacking days.  

Turkey is much like Iran, so as soon as I hit Istanbul I felt like ‘home’.  Huka pipes, chai shops.. the gand bizaar are amazing.   Turkey is brighter, more colourful, people so lovely.   so far i have stayed in a multimillion dollar mansion (where the dress is currently safely awaitng us), and now in a 8 dollar a night cave.  the dress already has it’s own story to tell… dungeons and dragging.   okay, I won’t say more incase the bride-to-be discovers this blog.  She leaves Canada in a few days, so I’ll be safe to say more than. 

i’d type better but I am on a turkish keyboard.. and it’s a touch confusing.

Goreme Cappodocia, Turkey. If there were a lake or ocean I would move here!

Goreme Cappodocia, Turkey. If there were a lake or ocean I would move here!

Megan’s turn on the internet, then we will search out dinner… turkish food very good.

Cappodocia means ‘the land of beautiful horses’  so named when the persians invaded  and discovered

So good to see my wandering daughter! Istanbul

So good to see my wandering daughter! Istanbul

extraordinary horses.   Also i was in an underground city that goes back 4000 years….. very strange…

Post Trip Addendum:  Ha!  Did I never write about the first day in Istanbul?  Yes, my darling daughter made sure I was immersed…  mosques, the grand bazaar where she led me to a piece of jewellery she had discovered much like my Iranian jewellery stolen years ago.. and now, unfortunately worth $1000, a hooka pipe with apple tobacco – hmm – she is just like her papa, thinks there is nothing ‘wrong’ with hooka tobacco!, turkish coffee, lovely turkish lunch, spice bazaar, ‘a cruise’, bahklava..  and the night with her lovely ‘family’!

About Janet

Artist/writer with a tall ship and mystical twist, Certified Professional Life Coach (ICA), Master Kaizen-Muse Creativity Coach (KMCC), empowerment workshop leader and creativity group facilitator trainer. Outdoor enthusiast and Tall Ship sailor. Healed from breast cancer using her own tools of play, lightness, creativity, nature, thinking differently and visualization to speed the healing, and ever ever so grateful for all the wondrous people she is surrounded by.

4 responses »

  1. Hello from the loops. I am glad to see you arrived safe and sound. It sounds so amazing and beautiful there. Have a wonderful time there.

    Reply
  2. Have been waiting to hear…so glad you’re having a grand time!! Couldn’t wait to hear about far away places and magical Faerie lands…I’m already lost…head in the clouds….dreaming of what you’re seeing! ENJOY!!! Jeannette

    Reply
  3. i bet what you are dreaming is what i’m seeing!

    Reply
  4. Traci, thanks for the greetings from the Loops! I’ve just arrived home… and still I have to say, If Cappodocia had a lake or an ocean, I would move there!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

