RSS Feed

Oh oh. My camera died. How will I go on from here?

Posted on

Family who might be reading this are now gasping and saying, “Oh my god, what will she do???”   I’m somewhat hooked on taking pictures.  A lot of pictures.  It’s an obsession/habit/… and it’s gotten so much worse since digital, cuz now I can take a million shots of one scene, knowing that I’ll get at least one nice one… then I keep them all anyway!  (well, not all.  but most..  all, if it’s Evalee in the picture)

My camera has been miserable since I got it.. it’s been sent back, ‘repaired’, and was going to be sent back after the trip anyway.  But now instead of getting photos that happen 4 seconds after the original shot was intended,  I get nothing.  It should have been a good camera, my Optio W30.. waterproof, dustproof, and all… but no, it’s a piece of …….  oops.  that’s not a polite thought.

My cheapest option to buy one in wee Paleohora, Crete is about $150.  hmm.  MAYBE.. WAIT! I’M haiving an AHA MOMENT!  RIGHT NOW! AS I WRITE!  MAYBE I WILL TRY TO SURVIVE WITHOUT A CAMERA ON THE TRIP!  (This is in keeping with the book I’m reading “Yes Man”)  EVERYTIME I want to take a PICTURE I WILL DO SOMETHING ELSE TO REMEMBER THE MOMENT!

That’s crazy.  That could be a lot of ‘moments’ to find alternate ways to remember.  A lot of sketching, painting, writing.  Wait, I could play more with this left brain/right brain studying I’m doing..  Exactly which part of our brain stores memories?  Or better yet, I can soulfully request that I remember.   Hmmm.. Surely there’s something to this plan, though, since it was an AHA moment and all.  And I’ll save myself $150 dollars!

The lambs in my basement… yes, there are two.  I decided to explore myself and as I approached, a lamb came out of the basement to greet me.  Very cute.  And took me back to meet the littlest lamb ever, who was enclosed behind a piece of wood in a dark corner.  The greeting lamb jumped back into their pen.  Isn’t that amazing that he/she doesn’t run away?  I don’t think it’s the mother… but could be, that would explain not running away.   Somebody seems to stop by sometimes, and the lambs look just ‘okay’…  but I don’t see food, or water.

If I can find the hotel owners, I will ask if anyone is looking after the lambs.  They eat lamb here.  (we don’t in Canada, right?  And don’t try to tell me we do, because I don’t want to know)   I kind of want to sneak them out into the wilderness… but I know nothing about lambs and their ability to survive.. let alone what they eat.   Hmm, I can find all this on the internet at only 3 euro’s an hour at this spot!

Today was a hot swimming in the sea kind of day.  Even with eyes open under salty water!  Who could resist looking at the beautiful sculptures of lava stone underwater in the green blue sea?

Off I go..  researching lambs, greece, bulgaria, and cameras….

Did you do something extraordinary for you yet?

About Janet

Artist/writer with a tall ship and mystical twist, Certified Professional Life Coach (ICA), Master Kaizen-Muse Creativity Coach (KMCC), empowerment workshop leader and creativity group facilitator trainer. Outdoor enthusiast and Tall Ship sailor. Healed from breast cancer using her own tools of play, lightness, creativity, nature, thinking differently and visualization to speed the healing, and ever ever so grateful for all the wondrous people she is surrounded by.

Leave a Reply

