RSS Feed

“What if a ‘worse case scenario’ sort of situation happened?”

Posted on

If someone had asked me, before my trip, “but, Janet, what will you do if a bus drops you off on the side of a road with no instructions on how to get where your going, and no one around who speaks English,  and you have a full on migraine set in, and luggage that suddenly feels ten times it’s weight, what will you do?”  I would have answered,  “Shit, that’s kind of a worst case scenario, isn’t it?  Why would I even spend time thinking of that?  That’s the sort of questions that stops people from even trying to head out on adventures!”

But, hey, I survived.  It wasn’t pretty, but I ended up getting somewhere.. maybe not where I intended but the right general direction.   And the migraine, which are now rare for me, but can be brutal… got better quite quickly.  The scary part was knowing I was not in any shape to be responsible for a wedding dress.. and of course, money, passport and other luggage.. and would have to trust that I got ‘us’ all safely  somewhere, without my full mental abilities helping!

Lefkada’s pretty.  Has ships!  Each time a bus dropped me off, I just taking any bus that stopped and was going in some sort of the same direction I had intended.

About Janet

Artist/writer with a tall ship and mystical twist, Certified Professional Life Coach (ICA), Master Kaizen-Muse Creativity Coach (KMCC), empowerment workshop leader and creativity group facilitator trainer. Outdoor enthusiast and Tall Ship sailor. Healed from breast cancer using her own tools of play, lightness, creativity, nature, thinking differently and visualization to speed the healing, and ever ever so grateful for all the wondrous people she is surrounded by.

One response »

  1. Lefkada is gorgeous, especially the Eastern shore, but the tides were difficult for swimming.

    I can’t believe you took a bus. As I recall from my 25th birthday in Greece (Thursday is my 50th) the tickets had seat numbers and we didn’t know that at the time. Our mistake caused much consternation on the buses north from Athens to Rethymno.

    At one point the bus stopped and I joined a line of ladies for what I thought was a restroom. It turned out to be a hole in the floor. I thought of not using it, but an 80 year-old lady had just left it and if she could do it, I could do it. After all, I was 25.

    Don’t know your site but thought I’d check in and say hello, Janet. Cheers! cookingwithdee.net, Dee

    Reply

Leave a Reply

