RSS Feed

I do believe in Me. I do! I do!

Posted on

In the tub, off in the world of thought that may have included faeries although I wasn’t paying that close of attention, I found myself hearing a little voice in my head* singing, “I do believe in me. I do. I do.” (chanted in the same way as in the movie “Peter Pan”- while Tinkerbell was fading away, but because Peter and the world joined in to chant “I do believe in Faeries. I do. I do,”  Tink’s spark returned and all was well again in the magical world!)

I had to smile. I’d been thinking about what was one key thing that most empowered the people I work with, and friends, and me….   I’m pretty sure the chant came to mind just to answer the earlier thoughts.  (Well that, and this whole faerie connection thing I have)  And really, it does come down to ‘acknowledging oneself”. .. being able to recognize the amazing person that you are.      

Not so easy.  You can read all the time about “you have to love yourself before you can do this, or that…..”  But exactly how do you get there when our world hasn’t exactly been kind to those who say, “I am such an amazing person!”  “I am so smart!”  “Damn, I look beautiful today!” or “I am so in love with me!” or “Wow, that’s the most brilliant idea EVER!”

Instead, people have been known to go so far as to avoid telling a child how extraordinary they are, because “they might get a big head.”   There’s something rather sinister about that, don’t you think?

“Don’t brag.” “He’s so full of himself.” “Show some humility.”  “Conceited” (oh, look! I don’t even know how to spell that word!) 

How about this scenario?  Child shares their wonderful accomplishment, and adult finds fault to ‘encourage them to work harder.”   Okay, maybe I’m being a bit harsh.  I see that I could turn this into some sort of rant.  But really, I think this was a standard of educators and some parents in the ‘old old days.’  The new parents are soo soooo much wiser.  Thank Gom.

Fact is, when I get to witness a client  recognize their strengths, their beauty, their uniqueness… I am also witnessing them moving forward towards their dreams at top speed.   It’s surprising how quickly one can come around to appreciating and believing in themselves after a lifetime of doubting.  No, it doesn’t happen overnight.  And there are moments of slipping back into old and limiting thinking.  That’s when it is especially nice to have a coach who can see this happen and help bring them back to their much more empowered state of being.

“I do believe in me. I do. I do.” I love it. I’m going to go make a T-shirt on Zazzle just as soon as I’m finished this post!

And the faeries are happy I was thinking of them.  But that’s another blog all together!www.iffaerieswerecoaches.wordpress.com

  

For the t-shirt, tote and other fun stuff.. www.zazzle.com/janetwhitehead*

I wasn’t kidding I really made the T shirt and tote.  Comes with a faerie just in case she needs to remind you to believe. In you.  and in faeries, too, of course.

 

Look! here’s an image!

t-and-tote

 

* voice in my head.    come on, just because I talk about faeries and such, don’t be using this phrase to convince yourself I must be crazy!  I’m about the most credible person I know.

 

About Janet

Artist/writer with a tall ship and mystical twist, Certified Professional Life Coach (ICA), Master Kaizen-Muse Creativity Coach (KMCC), empowerment workshop leader and creativity group facilitator trainer. Outdoor enthusiast and Tall Ship sailor. Healed from breast cancer using her own tools of play, lightness, creativity, nature, thinking differently and visualization to speed the healing, and ever ever so grateful for all the wondrous people she is surrounded by.

Leave a Reply

