RSS Feed

cookies, cheese, and faith

Posted on

It’s okay to eat all the treats in the house.  You know, before the leftover baking and candy goes bad.  They are tasting really good with my warm almond steamed milk.

I once was involved in an experiment involving muscle testing and cheese.

For those who don’t know, muscle testing is a method of determining if something is positive for you, or negative.   There are many ways to test: the gist is that your muscles go weak in the presence of a thing or thought or being that is negative for you,  and strong in the presence of things, thoughts, beings that are positive for you.

 At a healing hands workshops, the discussion came around to how bad certain foods were for us that we were sharing on the break.  As can happen, (although one would wish that weren’t true at an alternative healing workshop),  the conversation of ‘all that is bad’ extended to well.. pretty much anything we ingest.  or do. or say. or think.  

It’s at times like these that I tend to get a bit passionate about the power of us. .. the power of us to influence the world by our thoughts, energy, and beliefs.    My line of conversations  was towards, “If we stopped insisting everything was bad for us, and we simply fully enjoyed what we love  – knowing  it is then good for us… would it, in fact,  then be good for us?  I think so.”

Well.  The next thing you know I was being handed a piece of cheese…  because I had said I adore cheese and it’s good for me.  Apparently the energy of the non-believers and the media and the scientists and the ads weighed in on my beliefs, because I failed miserably when ‘muscle tested’ for the goodness of cheese.  

Never mind, I thought.  “Do it again” I said, “but this time I’ll bless this cheese”.  So I said to the cheese, “you, cheese,  are good for me.  Bless you. And thanks.”

And  this time, I muscle tested strong and firm- clearly demonstrating that blessed cheese is really good for me. 

So I’m blessing these cookies, clodhoppers and fancy cheeses in my home. mmm, num.   I’m not perfect at this yet… forgot to tell these treats to stay off the thighs. Oops.  And haven’t mastered blessing fluorescent lights to be good for me.  But, it’s all a concept I’m working on.

About Janet

Artist/writer with a tall ship and mystical twist, Certified Professional Life Coach (ICA), Master Kaizen-Muse Creativity Coach (KMCC), empowerment workshop leader and creativity group facilitator trainer. Outdoor enthusiast and Tall Ship sailor. Healed from breast cancer using her own tools of play, lightness, creativity, nature, thinking differently and visualization to speed the healing, and ever ever so grateful for all the wondrous people she is surrounded by.

Leave a Reply

