RSS Feed

My perspective on strange potato activity and setting off smoke alarms while cooking.

Posted on

Tonight I cooked dinner.   Meaning using the stove AND oven, as opposed to cottage cheese and fruit type meals.   I’m pretty sure I don’t always wreck cooked dinners  (remember my Christmas Dinners are lovely)  but it’s hard to say for sure.   Maybe I just don’t notice until someone else witnesses it. Or maybe I wreck dinners when someone else witnesses it, just so nobody expects me to cook them dinner all the time.   Time factor, you know. I have a lot of creative projects going on.

So tonight I cooked dinner.  Since I threw away my microwave last week…  (I was cleaning it and noticed the ceiling of it had disintegrated.  Oh, shoot, was that my cooking too?).. anyway, I baked the potatoes in the oven. I did poke a fork into the skins, honest I did.  Megan stopped by to pick up the dog for a walk. She saw the oven was on and said, “Mom you better set a timer.”  (what? like I’d forget I had potatoes in the oven?  just cause the stuffing was in the oven for a month doesn’t mean I’d forget my potatoes!) 

When she got back, she got to witness me testing the potatoes.  When I poked one, it blew up all over the oven.   No, I did not burn the potatoes, I just blew them up. 

And then as Megan was heading out the door, the smoke alarm went off.  That was the pork chops.   We both cracked right up laughing as I ran to get something to wave at the smoke alarm. It was good to see it is working.  You are supposed to test smoke alarms frequently.  If I cooked more, I’d be testing mine really often.

Maybe I just do these failed attempts at cooking  for humour… a little story my daughters can share with friends and potential boyfriends that they do not like or something.  

Ya, I think I do this for humour.  And to make sure people don’t expect me to cook dinner too often.

Off on a tangent, but similar theme…  My niece Shandee took 3 year old Avee, her daughter, to a birthday party at the fire hall.  The firemen/women demonstrated the sound of a smoke alarm and asked if the children had heard it before.  Avee answered “yes, when mommy is cooking dinner.”  Shandee, her mommy, announced, “Who is this child? I’m not her mother.”  

Hmm, do you do this for humour too, Shandee?

Readers, what is something that you may not consider yourself good at.. but that might have a real positive to it?

Once the oven cooled I left the door open, hoping Casper the dog might want to eat the blown up potato, but no. He didn’t.  Darn.

About Janet

Artist/writer with a tall ship and mystical twist, Certified Professional Life Coach (ICA), Master Kaizen-Muse Creativity Coach (KMCC), empowerment workshop leader and creativity group facilitator trainer. Outdoor enthusiast and Tall Ship sailor. Healed from breast cancer using her own tools of play, lightness, creativity, nature, thinking differently and visualization to speed the healing, and ever ever so grateful for all the wondrous people she is surrounded by.

3 responses »

  1. Hi Janet, Thanks for your comment on my blog. Is the L. for Lynn? My husband’s family (the Whitehead’s) are from the midwest. He grew up in Jackson, MS. His brother was a writing teacher at the University of Arkansas (and author). I enjoyed your painting and blog very much. I will be checking back……

    Reply
  2. Bizarre. Our middle initial is the same too? My middle name is Louise. To readers, the “Janet Whitehead” commenting above is also an artist!

    Reply
  3. My friend on Facebook shared this link with me and I’m not dissapointed that I came to your blog.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

