RSS Feed

Interview with Jill Badonsky – everything about her is a “YES”! (you can win a copy of the Awe-Manac!)

Posted on

(update:
the draw has been done,
the book has been won,
Susanne’s having fun,
being a creative one.    oh, how I love my bad poetry!)

But do read on for the interview!

It is a delightful honour to have Jill Badonsky stop here on her Blog Book Tour! 

Okay, seriously, I’m dancing around the house,  singing “yes! yes! yes!” and the faeries are doing the typing.  (They are getting good at this)  alprpioq * al;sj;f aei  (oops, never mind, now they are dancing on the keys)

awemanac2Jill is the author of “The Awe-Manac: A Daily Dose of Wonder” and “The Nine Modern Day Muses and a bodyguard.”   In my passion for learning and understanding the creative mind, Jill and her works have taught me more than any other person, organization or book.

Welcome wildly funny, brilliant, Jill!  
 
Here’s the interview!


1.      As I continue to learn and grow in the areas of creative play, coaching play, and spirit play, I’ve developed a concept that ‘Left Brain/ Right Brain’ is the same as ‘Ego/Soul’, and is the same as ‘Mind/ Heart’.  We need them all!  Now it took me until recently to ‘put that together’, but I think you’ve known this forever.  Was there a specific time in your life, or experience that triggered your choice to help the rest of us ‘get it’?
 
I was blessed with a concoction of DNA that includes teacher-genes, rebelliousness, common sense, eternal kid-fulness, and creative intuition. I think you were too, Janet.

Teacher: The first thing I think of when something works in the creative realm is, “I can’t wait to tell others about this.”  I think that means I’m a teacher.

Rebelliousness: When I sought life coaching, I noticed that the life coach blocked me by providing linear, ego oriented questionnaires like rank your values. How can I rank my values when, depending on the moment they change? Sometimes I want to be creative, sometimes I want to be generous and sometimes I want to hide under my comforter. I had to start telling my coach that she needed to prescribe more intuitive prescriptions.

Back to Teacher: I asked myself “How many other people out there are being told what to do in linear fashion when the development of their soul, heart and intuition could liberate them. I set out to reach them in books, teleconferences and billboards.
Intuition: Trusting the intuition is one of the most joy filled experiences of being alive. The answers are all there in our soul, heart and creativity. Trust is the spiritual part of it.

Eternal Kid-fulness: If it’s not fun.. it’s not very fun and that’s not fun so it better be fun.

None of this came without an obsessional, verging on pathological, preoccupation of self-awareness, solitude and intuited guesses that were employed with on the most part, amazing success.

Common Sense: There are so many people out there advising us what to do who are not coming from a place of common sense or not considering the individual. We have to not only question them, but question our own thoughts that come from being in a society that easily hypnotizes us not to follow the instincts that make sense to us. Some of us have to learn to do that for the first time – when you do you will discover there’s another way to exist that is what being alive is all about.

2.      It’s not easy to be a right brain thinker in a left brain world.  I’m in awe that one page of a book per day can gift us with a gentle, yet oh so powerful way, to be our right brain selves in this left brain world.  How did you do this? Are you magical?

I’m so glad it works for you. I just know I’m easily overwhelmed and putting things in bite-sized portions was more appealing to me. I hear from so many women that they are overwhelmed and wanted to make it possible for them to be dazzled, inspired, and creatively fortified little by little daily.

 
3.      The hundreds of illustrations in the Awe-Manac are delightful.  Can you describe the feeling when you are immersed in your art?  Does it take you away from any ‘troublesome details in life’, or do you ever find that despite stuff going on, the creations appear anyway?

 I think I channel much of what comes through me creatively because I can’t explain where it comes from and sometimes when I’m in the process, I crack up at what spontaneously combusts! It’s the greatest high of my life and I feel like Dolly Parton when she says, “When I’m inspired, I get excited because I can’t wait to see what I’ll come up with next.”

 
4.      Can you come play with me this Summer or Fall?  (Either here in Canada or Australia if I win the $100 000 dream job application (smile) )
 
YES!!!!! I love your work, your amazingnesses, your creation and your wisdom.  Your readers are blessed to have found you.

 Thank you Jill, for sharing your wisdom and insights!  And now, Readers, here’s today’s page of from the Awe-Manac!   Go play!  (Oh, but don’t forget to leave a comment.  We’ll do a draw and one of you will win a copy of the Awe-Manac.. already packaged and ready to send!)

 

february-241

About Janet

Artist/writer with a tall ship and mystical twist, Certified Professional Life Coach (ICA), Master Kaizen-Muse Creativity Coach (KMCC), empowerment workshop leader and creativity group facilitator trainer. Outdoor enthusiast and Tall Ship sailor. Healed from breast cancer using her own tools of play, lightness, creativity, nature, thinking differently and visualization to speed the healing, and ever ever so grateful for all the wondrous people she is surrounded by.

15 responses »

  1. To: Janet
    Subject: Re: Win the Awe Manac on Feb 24th! AND my 100 000 dollar job application. Please share info.

    I tried to comment a few times but I can’t get it to work so here they
    are….

    I’m trying to put my comments in but it doesn’t want to work. Ok last
    chance. Janet I am in awe. Thanks for the info. The book looks really
    wonderous and the interview whismical. Thanks for the little
    inspirations. I needed a little pick me up today. Jen

    Jennifer Boyle

    Reply
  2. This is so inspiring .. thanks Jill and Janet!!!!

    Reply
  3. This is such a wonderful way to begin my day! Thanks for making this possible. Adele

    Reply
  4. In my teleporting, shape shifting,realm traveling,do and be anything bumper car , I can bump any, no, should, have to, or anything else I’ve aloud in the past to stand in the way of moving forward, To be and do, what my body and soul CAN DO. Oh.. and a trunk big enough for the tools(MONEY) needed in this reality. NOT THE END. lol

    Reply
  5. Hello,
    Thanks for the great interview. I love what you say about linear thinking – it really strikes a chord with me, as well as some things to think about.

    I wish you wild success the new book. It looks like a lot of fun and I am happy to be introduced to it.

    Reply
  6. So glad I stopped by for the blog tour! As a museling in one of Janet’s past muse groups, checking in here reminds me to keep paying attention every day to creative moments.
    Jill, may your book be a bestseller. We creative people need all the help we can get.

    Reply
  7. Okay, Mom, I came to check this out and I am impressed. Do relatives get put into the draw?

    Reply
  8. Cool ! Great to see you here Jill. I am enjoying the book and the workshop.

    We might have to invent a magic potent for our teacher Janet to keep her well and healthy.

    I am slightly creatively deprived as we did not have class this week!

    So I shall send you super immune boosting beliefs to lift your energy!

    Reply
  9. Thank you Sherry! The wonder of all of you is like that magic potent… getting better by the second!

    Reply
  10. I read my Awe-Manac every night. I love it, Jill

    So I don’t need to go in the draw because I own the book!

    Besides I’m a relative, too

    Reply
  11. Janet, Thank you so much for this wonderful interview with Jill. I actually found YOU while on Jill’s Web site and have now added you to my Google Reader list. How wonderfully inspiring you both are! ~Cheryl

    Reply
  12. Thank you for your comments, Cheryl! Delighted to be on your Reader List!

    Reply
  13. My congratulations to Jill for her inspiration to all and to you Janet for making the enjoyment possible. Yes Courtney, of course ‘relatives are allowed’ I am sure.

    Reply
  14. You provide enriched information for us,thank u.

    Reply
  15. Okay, Mom, I came to check this out and I am impressed. Do relatives get put into the draw?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

