RSS Feed

Computers need naps too

Posted on

Imagine my daughter’s surprise when she popped in one day awhile back and a lovely blanket was covering the computer. 

“Mom, what the ?” she commented, with the ‘look’ that says, “oh, what is my strange mother up to now?”

“It’s taking a nap, dear.” I answered.

Sometimes, the computer dons a sweater.  That’s when it wants to go out.

At Christmas time, it dresses festively to suit the occasion.

It’s common knowledge that computers can be a very enticing distraction from doing other things.  A couple emails leads to hours of exploring.  A word game leads to more word games.  A youtube video  leads to more and more videos.  A quiz leads to another quiz.  And of course, your fairyland on facebook always needs some attention – and you feel good about that because you are saving the rainforest.  

And if you are one of those people who have signed up for a lot of free resources, you could spend your entire day going through the newsletters.. and that’s just to delete them!   (If you are in that arena,  here’s a hint: pick two to five that you do read.  Unsubscribe from the rest.  Sure, there are some that you know you’ll want in your life someday.  You could mark those sites as favourites for the future, or simply know you will come across it again when you do need it.)

In my particular case, the computer is central to much of my business: 

  • I maintain an online console for my clients and me.
  • I coach both in person and by telephone, and clients are most welcome to communicate via email between sessions. 
  • I manage my website, my blogs, my marketing and graphics.  
  • I twitter, I facebook, I belong to networks of coaches, I attend forums and webinars related to creativity, life coaching, business coaching, marketing.
  • And be darned if the computer isn’t a big part of publishing a book!  (a whole new area for me!  Book will be out in a couple of weeks! whoo hoo)
  • And of course, I write work(play!)books.

Yup, my computer is key to my business. 

Do you know how easy it is to be doing something else nearby and think, “oh, I have an idea..” and suddenly be immersed in doing ‘something’ on the computer.  Or be doing my taxes, and get inspired to write  a post about napping computers?  (Yup, this post is an inspired escape from boredom!)

And that, dear readers, is why my computer takes naps or goes out.  Sure, I could just turn it off… but 1. I’d have to save everything, finish everything, or remember to reopen everything AND that takes time!  2. I could just as easily turn it back on.

But if I whip back to the computer to do a quick email, or pay a bill, and I see that it is napping.. well, I smile  (in fact, I laugh) and know it’s supposed to be sleeping for a little while.   I’m even more respectful when it ‘goes out’ .. usually that means I REALLY need a break, and threw the closest thing possible over it’s sweet little head.  er.. monitor.

Does your computer need a nap?  Do you have a blanket?  Give this little trick a shot.  If there’s one thing I do know, using humour and ‘lightening up’ methods to change habits is a lot more fun than more traditional ways that, darn it, just aren’t working.

About Janet

Artist/writer with a tall ship and mystical twist, Certified Professional Life Coach (ICA), Master Kaizen-Muse Creativity Coach (KMCC), empowerment workshop leader and creativity group facilitator trainer. Outdoor enthusiast and Tall Ship sailor. Healed from breast cancer using her own tools of play, lightness, creativity, nature, thinking differently and visualization to speed the healing, and ever ever so grateful for all the wondrous people she is surrounded by.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Dear Coaching Faeries, « if faeries were coaches…

  2. I agree with this post! Sometimes, my poor PC needs to take a nap with all the things I do daily (even though I am gone 9 hours with my regular job)!!

    Thanks so much for sharing! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

