RSS Feed

Research proves your thoughts can physically make you younger.

Posted on

Just in case you needed proof, here’s a link to BEST article!

I choose my age before my birthday each year. It’s not vanity. It’s about not allowing my own thoughts to age me.   This is a belief that I am very passionate about.  In my bathroom for all to see is a card: “how old would you be if you didn’t know how old you are”

I knew as I headed into my 40’s that if I ‘registered’ those ages in my head in terms of my own ‘expectations’ of a person that age, as well as the cultural expectations of people that age.. well, I would not be a crazy waterskiier that I still am.   It was self preservation that has made me be the age I think I am.  It was knowing that thoughts alone would be enough to make me more fragile physically, and might keep me from making big changes, including leaping from careers,  and certainly could prevent me from becoming an author and artist when our culture implies that you can only be that if you’ve been doing it all your life.      (and by the way, I am past that whole 40 decade.) 

 And, finally, here’s proof that backs up my beliefs!  Check this out!

Just say NO! to aging: A provocative new book from a Harvard psychologist suggests that changing how we think about our age and health can have dramatic physical benefits

 http://www.newsweek.com/id/193197/

GO!  GO check this out! I’m so excited.

By the way, last year I was ‘eternal’, the year before ‘timeless’, the year before ‘ageless’, and then I think I was 37 1/2.  This year, I’m “nana-age”.  (Hey,I coulda had my girls at 14)   My family actually celebrates the age I’ve chosen or that they recommend each year.  If I do need to know how old I am in linear left brain thinking years, I normally have to ask my daughters.

I think people born later in the century than me may have a healthier perspective of aging and ability than my generation.  Which of course I have no idea what generation I belong to, being timeless and all.

About Janet

Artist/writer with a tall ship and mystical twist, Certified Professional Life Coach (ICA), Master Kaizen-Muse Creativity Coach (KMCC), empowerment workshop leader and creativity group facilitator trainer. Outdoor enthusiast and Tall Ship sailor. Healed from breast cancer using her own tools of play, lightness, creativity, nature, thinking differently and visualization to speed the healing, and ever ever so grateful for all the wondrous people she is surrounded by.

Leave a Reply

