RSS Feed

Life is too short…it’s true.

Posted on

 “‘Life’s too short’ is repeated often enough to be a cliche, but this time it’s true. You don’t have enough time to be both unhappy and mediocre. It’s not just pointless, it’s painful. Instead of wondering when your next vacation is, maybe you ought to set up a life you don’t need to escape from.”   Seth Godin, from his book, Tribes

Powerful statement.  Ever so true.  If it’s hit home with you, consider life coaching.   You can learn more about my life coaching practise here:  www.musingsandmud.com

 

About Janet

Artist/writer with a tall ship and mystical twist, Certified Professional Life Coach (ICA), Master Kaizen-Muse Creativity Coach (KMCC), empowerment workshop leader and creativity group facilitator trainer. Outdoor enthusiast and Tall Ship sailor. Healed from breast cancer using her own tools of play, lightness, creativity, nature, thinking differently and visualization to speed the healing, and ever ever so grateful for all the wondrous people she is surrounded by.

6 responses »

  1. I agree totally with Seth Godin.

    Reply
  2. Yes! This quote reminds me that even when my income is up and down, I’m so blessed to be doing what I love, and hiking when I want. LIfe is feeling a lot like a vacation. Thanks for your input!

    Reply
  3. My comment is totally unrelated to your post, but I am having writers block so I thought I would pop by and read (the toilet is already clean) … I find your writing brilliant and your posts often inspire me to jot down my own thoughts on life (okay the jotting down my own thoughts is a lie …. but I do have the thoughts).

    I am suppose to be writing a farewell speech for a co-worker who was bumped from her position at my place of work. The only things I can come up with are so cliche (see …. it is somehow related to your post) and in true WHITEHEAD fashion, the speech is due Wednesday.

    Here is what I have come up with (lame I know … and now publicly lame …):

    So this is goodbye, Lana.

    We’ll miss you.

    One way or another, you’ve had quite an impact on this place.

    And you’ll leave quite a gap here.

    But we won’t have any shortage of memories.

    We’ll remember you for being self-sufficient.

    We’ll remember you for being reliable.

    And if we’re honest, we’ll also remember you for your good food .

    Most of all, though, we’ll remember you for being a great person to have around.

    None of what I have come up is really how I feel though …. I am just having a hard time saying how amazing she is, how mad I am that she was bumped and how much I am going to miss her …. aaaaggghhhh ….

    Check out this quote … now if only I came up with that on my own!

    Why can’t we get all the people together in the world that we really like and then just stay together? I guess that wouldn’t work. Someone would leave. Someone always leaves. Then we would have to say good-bye. I hate good-byes. I know what I need. I need more hellos.
    ~Charles M. Schulz

    Now if there was somewhere on this blog of yours that said, “get your brilliant speech here!” I would totally bye it!

    Love, love, love,
    The Blocked Writer

    Reply
  4. Dear Blocked Writer,
    The quote is a great beginning, don’t you think? That’s the start of the brilliant speech:

    Why can’t we get all the people together in the world that we really like and then just stay together? I guess that wouldn’t work. Someone would leave. Someone always leaves. Then we would have to say good-bye. I hate good-byes. I know what I need. I need more hellos.
    ~Charles M. Schulz

    And so, Hello Lana.

    Each time I show up to a shared meal and your food isn’t there, I will think, “Hello Lana, I’m thinking of you.”

    And when {such and such} happens, I will be reminded of a time you._________, and I will think “hey hello Lana, here you are again.”

    And when I get cranky at the system that has you leaving us, I will think of how amazing you are, and how much we miss you, and I will get crankier.

    oh wait, no, I’m supposed to say, I will think, “Hello Lana, I am inspired by your amazingness. Thanks for being in my thoughts again.”

    etc.

    (so, umm.. might that trigger more for you? I know you will do a kick ass speech. and ya, it’ll all happen at the deadline, in true spirit of Whiteheads, but thought I’d give you something to think about!)

    Reply
  5. did you catch that …. “totally bye it” instead of “buy it” …. did you catch that? cause it is a farewell speech! i’m that good! end of story!

    Reply
  6. I DID catch that!! but forgot to comment! You’re that good! Is the speech ready to go?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

