RSS Feed

Oh, the audacity… Poems by Coreena McBurnie

Posted on

Audacity I and II by Coreena McBurnie
I.
A young spring flower ponders as it grows:
Blooming is so hard, it’s too hard, I fear,
I could look absurd, insane, who knows?
Will THEY find fault with all that I hold dear?

I have a plan, the shrinking violet said,
Compromise, so I won’t seem over-proud,
I’ll grow into a blade of grass instead,
Anonymous, I’ll blend in with the crowd!

But her spirit sings of audacity,
Her gift, herself, too sacred to let go.
She shines and blooms as big as she can be,
Beautiful, she inspires others to grow.

The birds and bees need flowers to grow bold,
We must listen and let our dreams take hold.

II.
Audacious
Tenacious
Utterly outrageous!
Intrepid, unfearing, unashamed.
The world is my oyster,
I’m on a daring quest!

Bold-faced and brazen
Presumptuous, insolent, what a nerve!
Who do you think you are?
Have you no shame?
What is your worth?

Shrinking
Sinking
What was I thinking?
Who do I think I am?
Mundane
Down the drain, inane, insane.
Everyday, ordinary, routine, plain.
She’s so vain.  What a pain! 

Hey!  No way! 
WHAT WAS I THINKING?
Who am I?

Bold-faced and brazen!
 Brassy, beautiful,
 Adventurous and brave,
 A bodacious babe.
 
I am me,
Audaciously.
I have found my pearl, you see.

~~~~~~~~~~~~

Coreen McBurnie read her poems during the “Muse Audacity” class of the Creative Muse Course.  Our mouths dropped and we said, “Coreena, how long have you been writing poetry?  We didn’t know you wrote poetry!”  She answered, “I don’t. These are my first.”        !!

Interesting note: Coreena has read The Odyssey in original Greek.

About Janet

Artist/writer with a tall ship and mystical twist, Certified Professional Life Coach (ICA), Master Kaizen-Muse Creativity Coach (KMCC), empowerment workshop leader and creativity group facilitator trainer. Outdoor enthusiast and Tall Ship sailor. Healed from breast cancer using her own tools of play, lightness, creativity, nature, thinking differently and visualization to speed the healing, and ever ever so grateful for all the wondrous people she is surrounded by.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Oh, the audacity… Poems by Coreena McBurnie « musings of musings … | Poems

Leave a Reply

