RSS Feed

The Amaranteen Theory

Posted on

For a long long time now, I have chosen my age just before my birthday. My family has been ever so kind to honour the age I choose – wonderful beings that they are.
 
 The fact is, I’ve been doing this for so long now, that if I do need to know my ‘legal age’, I ask my daughters or I have to calculate!
 
This is not vanity. This is my way of not allowing my own perceptions of age to affect how I live my life.  I started ‘age choosing’ when I noticed in my thoughts that I was questioning how long I would be able to continue to waterski. (a serious passion!)
 
I had already experienced the power of thought and visualization for improving sport ability and for healing nasty sport injuries. Okay, the truth is the injury repair also had to do with the rebel in me. (I bet there’s quite a few rebels reading this newsletter!)  Three times I was told I would never ski again. I’m grateful for my rebellion ( and the magic of visualizing) because I continue to ski.
 
And so I applied the same principles – the power of thought – to my thinking about my age. It works like a charm for me, because honestly, even still when I think in terms of ‘age,’ I am surprised at the chaos of limiting beliefs that have been formed in my thoughts.
 
Ever think you are too old to write a book, hike a mountain, or start a new career?  Then you understand. I seriously can’t have those kind of thoughts in my head. I’d still be back in the corporate world if I’d allowed those to take hold!
 
A few years back, my dog’s vet was surprised I still skiied and played hard. He said, “So, isn’t it time you started aging gracefully?”   Excuse me? No! I was a baby still in my 40’s! I was inspired to change vets.
 
To me ‘aging gracefully’ triggered beliefs that would not serve me well. For you, however, it may be an empowering thought.
 
This passion for understanding how our thoughts – both conscious
and unconcious – affect our choices, our daily lives, our fears,
our aging bodies, our joy, our creativity, our soulfullness,
and then finding the thoughts that work better is why
I became a life coach. We each have our own very unique
set of beliefs and thoughts – including those that empower us, and
those that take our power away. We are fascinating beings…
I adore helping others with that discovery process.
 
Now about my amaranteenth birthday..  
About six years ago I chose 37.5.  But the next year, I realized I needed to add some years for wisdom, so I turned ‘ageless’, then ‘timeless’, then ‘eternal’, then ‘nana age’.  My age comes to me from an “aha” moment, a daughter, or a thesaurus. Today’s choice was via a thesaurus. When I found the word amaranthine, as a synonym to eternal, I leaped in the air!  Amaranthine means:
eternally beautiful and unfading; everlasting, and has been used in reference to an unfading imaginary flower.  “Perfect!” I thought, “what a beautiful age to be!”  And so, I am celebrating my amaranteenth birthday tomorrow!
 
This should keep creaky bones and cranky thoughts about getting older in check.

About Janet

Artist/writer with a tall ship and mystical twist, Certified Professional Life Coach (ICA), Master Kaizen-Muse Creativity Coach (KMCC), empowerment workshop leader and creativity group facilitator trainer. Outdoor enthusiast and Tall Ship sailor. Healed from breast cancer using her own tools of play, lightness, creativity, nature, thinking differently and visualization to speed the healing, and ever ever so grateful for all the wondrous people she is surrounded by.

6 responses »

  1. If only more than 62 people would hear this!

    Reply
  2. Haha am I really the first comment to this amazing writing.

    Reply
  3. Thank you! I’ll continue to spread the word! and you know, I get surprisingly few comments on this blog, so truly appreciate your mentioning you stopped by!
    May you be feeling totally amaranthian!

    Reply
  4. Janet,

    I love your idea of creating your own age to distract from all the negative agism thoughts that can swing so many in a direction they really don’t want to go. Thank you for this sharing. My birthday is in 2 days which gives me just enough time to create my new age!
    Grins,
    Dakota Gold
    :))

    Reply
  5. I’m working on an Amaranthian work/play book! Won’t be ready for your birthday Dakota, but I know your muses will come up with something perfect for you!

    Reply
  6. Ps. Wishing you an enchanting birthday, Dakota!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

