RSS Feed

Cityville – so not for the creative thinking inclined.

Posted on

What were they thinking when they created Cityville on facebook? “Let’s show people how to do what they are told and if they don’t they are held back.” ? Sounds a lot like a school system I was once in.  Sounds a lot like a corporate system I was once in.  (Heck, sounds a lot like the reason I am a coach helping others get past those barriers and block built into our systems!)

Seriously, aren’t we trying to change that?… aren’t we trying to create a world of more conscious people making choices that come from the soul, not from City Hall?   Nope, not so on Cityville. If you don’t meet their preset goals  then you’re screwed.  You can’t add more pretty little houses unless you add the city hall, post office and the police station.  And if you add those you either pay to staff them or you invite friends.  I don’t want a police station. Or a city hall.  A post office is fine.  I want a little community of co-creators that don’t require police enforcement.  I don’t want to be bribed by the logger so that he will vote for me for mayor.  Yes, it’s true.  The logger is promising to vote for me if I chop down trees.  

And not only that, as you ‘harvest’ your rent, crops or coffee shop (all with one cursor)  if you accidently hit a tree. you chop it down. And chopping down trees gives you points.  And if you don’t chop down trees, you don’t meet goals and can’t go forward.  uh.  Did the designers miss the environmental  wave of thought that’s happening around the real world?

 Okay, so clearly I won’t last long on Cityville.  Curiousity got me there.  My curious streak about how people think, how they create, and what inspires them makes me interested in these popular games, their design and what inspires people to play them.  I am  befuddled by cityville. The whole concept seems ‘old school.’

 I think it would be fun to make a very creative and unique community on Cityville, but the option doesn’t exist. To play I have to follow their goals and rules.  And chop down trees.  Sheesh.

Dang, I wish I had the skills to create a facebook game.  It would be such a creative and magical adventure.   Imagine!  It would attract the smaller percentage that are seekers, changers, creators – what an intriguing ‘imaginary community’ that would be!

About Janet

Artist/writer with a tall ship and mystical twist, Certified Professional Life Coach (ICA), Master Kaizen-Muse Creativity Coach (KMCC), empowerment workshop leader and creativity group facilitator trainer. Outdoor enthusiast and Tall Ship sailor. Healed from breast cancer using her own tools of play, lightness, creativity, nature, thinking differently and visualization to speed the healing, and ever ever so grateful for all the wondrous people she is surrounded by.

2 responses »

  1. Every game has it’s rules and guidelines, if youuu want a game to play that is free roam. Then you’re better off creating that yourself. Some of it makes sense on cityville. It is pretty much based on the real world. People make livings cutting down trees, if it wasn’t for that. I could guarantee you wouldn’t be living in the house you are today. I don’t necessarily with cutting down all the woods. And indangering the wildlife. But this is merely a game. If you don’t like it, then just leave it alone. You aren’t being forced to play it.

    Reply
  2. Thanks for commenting, Kayla… anad absolutely Cityville appeals to many. It does follow the real world perspective, but I write from the perspective of the more dominant ‘right brain’ thinker where sometimes we, by nature, rebel against too many rules and not enough creative play for our thinking. No doubt there are ‘right brain’ thinkers who enjoy Cityville; likely as an exercise in left brain play. And i suspect there’s a huge following otherwise, because the very large percentage of the population are left brain dominant thinkers and the structure of this would be fun for them. No worries, I did take myself off Cityville but the rebel in me simply had to comment. ~smile~

    Reply

Leave a Reply

