RSS Feed

Guilt: sure cure way not to get what your soul calls for.

Posted on

One of the most disempowering yet most common beliefs that people live by: “I shouldn’t want more out of life. I should be happy with what I’ve got.”  And then the guilt sets in for wanting something more, or for wanting to feel happier, or for yearning to ‘get to’ something that keeps calling them.. and they stop even dreaming, because of the guilt.

Often these underlying thoughts are so ingrained, a person doesn’t even consciously acknowledge what’s stopping them. Nor do they take time to explore the  possibilities of what it is they are yearning for.  Whatever it is, it’s all possible. This I do know… sometimes it’s different perspective that sets things rolling; or a way that they had not thought of before; or a way that is less grandiose than they thought it had to be but does in fact address the yearning; …. yes,  it is all possible.  I know, I know.. this is a short little blog post that says ‘it’s all possible and  ya ya, sure it is’.

But  here’s  little step..

Just for a moment. Notice the yearnings.  Notice  if guilt stops you. Give yourself permission to listen to the whispers of your soul.   They are there for a reason…

That alone could be enough for things to start to shift….

About Janet

Artist/writer with a tall ship and mystical twist, Certified Professional Life Coach (ICA), Master Kaizen-Muse Creativity Coach (KMCC), empowerment workshop leader and creativity group facilitator trainer. Outdoor enthusiast and Tall Ship sailor. Healed from breast cancer using her own tools of play, lightness, creativity, nature, thinking differently and visualization to speed the healing, and ever ever so grateful for all the wondrous people she is surrounded by.

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Live & Spend without the Guilt « Investment Strategies, Inc.

  2. Great post and so true! Without acknowledging those yearnings, how would one grow and expand, how would one create? Even animals have yearnings, don’t you agree? 🙂

    Reply
  3. Dora, you’ve triggered a memory I’m inspired to share back….. I went to a Agricultural Exhibition once and there was a bull penned and on display as one of the largest bulls ever (or in the area.. I don’t remember) . Having recently taken a ‘communication with animals’ course, I thought I would see if I could connect. I sensed his discomfort and I combined what I know with what I had just learned by visualizing a space with him that he might sense from his perspective.. I can still see it.. a field with a large tree that shaded him. When I came ‘out of’ the process, he was looking at me and i swear he was smiling. The onlookers kept asking what I had done.. he was so drawn to watch me for so long, and he seemed visibly more peaceful. So. Yes. They yearn. And I really hope I got to help him be in a ‘space’ that acknowledged his yearnings. I, however, considered it a most extraordinary experience because in that ‘space’ there was a complete lack of other thoughts – including cluttery self talk or processing all that was around us, or judging if this is the right space or not’… all the things that our human mind can be full of. I did try to instill ‘keep picturing that while you’re here’ in a way I hoped made sense to a bull… have no idea if that worked, but the whole thing was quite an experience for me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

