RSS Feed

Peaceful Puttering Pottering in Parallel Universe Time

Posted on

“Hello?”

“Hello Creative Beans!” announces the queen of inspiration, Jill Badonsky, to a number of creative beans on a teleconference call.

She suggests we  add an essence to our Parallel Universe Time*:  A couple of adjectives like childlike openess, mellow meandering, willing wonder, delighted curiousity…

I’ve picked  Peaceful Puttering Pottering.. because it’s okay to pick more than two words.. everything is okay if you are in a creative space.  It’s a random choice.  But then, ‘random’ is often the ‘permission slip’ for our more inspired thoughts to surprise us.

We write our words on a piece of paper in a script akin to our words (mine looked very puttery) and breath in the feeling that our words might feel like.

Yup, I’m going to spend a focussed half hour of peaceful puttering pottering with my clay.

After a couple of moments of connecting on this call, being reminded that this is our half hour to show up to our creative space, and that in that space, we also get to hold creative space for  the others on the call:

  • No checking emails,
  • no searching for snacks in the fridge and then deciding it needs cleaning,
  • no taking the dog for just a little walk

… just showing up to our creative project.  At the end of a half hour, we will reconnect to ‘check-in’ and celebrate our showing up.

I feel rather excited at the mention of ‘giddy eagerness’ and the sacred space to be held by ‘us’.

I hang up, go straight to the clay that MUST get done.. there is a deadline!  And it is drying too quickly!  And I’ve been on many deadlines in the past and endless hours of sculpting and creating and I realize as I breath in ‘peaceful puttering pottering’ that my energy truly has shifted to something I had forgotten when I’m on a deadline (oh so self imposed.. I could always have started earlier. Typical dang creative.)  I also realize that the energy of wayyyyy too many late nights, long weeks, extensive creating without breaks over the years is exactly what can keep me from the clay now – it worked then, but it’s not what I want to feel anymore.  I want to take breaks and lull and meander and peacefully puttery pot.

And even though the pieces I’m working on do have a deadline, I truly feel more peaceful and puttery.   This rocks.

“Oh wait!  I have an idea!” I think as I carve my pots. BUT GUESS WHAT.. I DON’T run to the computer to start a new blog post. I don’t run to my book to add a few words. I don’t run off and email a friend.  I don’t post a caption to Jill’s facebook photos. No. I stay put because I am holding sacred creative space for the others, too.

A fun little check-in one half hour later and Parallel Universe Time is over.. but I can do it again next week.  You can too.. you can just whip right over here and sign up for free.

But if you can’t get there, there’s other ways.  You could find a cohort in creativity:  Almost every week day morning, Coreena McBurnie and I connect for 20 minutes of ‘getting to our books.’  It works.  Even for me who likes endless hours to write.. I feel so good getting in 20 minutes.  It can lead to more, of course. I usually have clients or other things booked and don’t get to carry on for too long. But the book is always open on my computer now, and I can spend more ’20 minutes’ several times during the day! Or not.  20 minutes is enough to keep it on the top of the important list.. instead of the ‘one day I’ll get to” list.  Just holding space for each other is enough.

Oh the wonders and weirdnesses of us creative beans…  and thank goodness for ways to help us show up!  What helps you get to your creativity?

 * Parallel Universe Time is actually an official tool (and ever so well received) of Jill Badonsky’s Kaizen-Muse Creativity Coaching

About Janet

Artist/writer with a tall ship and mystical twist, Certified Professional Life Coach (ICA), Master Kaizen-Muse Creativity Coach (KMCC), empowerment workshop leader and creativity group facilitator trainer. Outdoor enthusiast and Tall Ship sailor. Healed from breast cancer using her own tools of play, lightness, creativity, nature, thinking differently and visualization to speed the healing, and ever ever so grateful for all the wondrous people she is surrounded by.

Leave a Reply

