RSS Feed

The Muse A-Fairian Interviews: September Kuromi’s Dual LIfe

Posted on

The Muse A-Fairian Interviews:
Real people, magical people, inspired people, people I have the blessing of getting to know through my work, people just like you.   In this series, they will be sharing their trials, tribulations, creative passions and reminding you of your wisdom, wonder, and even ‘normalness’.. for a creative soul, that is.

Galloping Free by September Kuromi

September Kuromi

Leading a dual life.

My art:

http://septembersart.wordpress.com

My Social Fire business:

 www.socialfire.ca

A bit about you?

I am an ex-corporate computer programmer – I love social media, business intelligence and solving impossible programming challenges.  But now – I divide my time between three young kids, creating art and consulting on corporate volunteering/sustainable business practices.

My first love in art is horses – my second love is portraits.  I do commissions and fun pieces in pencil, plus dabbling in painting, sculpting.  I will have a little of everything at the Muse-Affair.

Have you always been creative?
I always thought ‘I am not very creative’.  I can solve problems and draw anything I see – but I am not creative.   But then a fairy (I think I call her Muse Janet) landed on the page of a magazine I was reading and I decided to try something new.

Now I feel like I am full of ideas and solutions.  I used to do all my brainstorming on a computer, occasionally with a pen and paper.  Now, I get my pencil crayons, paints, playdough and my sketchbook and let my imagination flow.

My first impulse to an open ended problem is still to ask someone else for advice, or do it for me, but as fortune would have it those people don’t seem to come through – so I end up doing it myself, with lovely results.  I am slowly building faith in my creative self…  and I hear people say ‘you are so creative!’ regularly.  I know it was always there – so yes, I was always creative –  but I didn’t accept the label until recently.
Has ‘small steps’ or ‘lowering expectations’ helped you to show up?
More than anything ‘small steps’ has made me more effective.  Even what I used to think was a ‘small step’ I now realize was still a big step.  Infinitesimally small steps makes the impossible seem possible.   I love having someone help me break it down – it turns out to be an eye opener everytime.  But I also remember to do it all on my own sometimes and love the results.
Where does your inspiration come from?
Solving problems, running…

Do you easily consider yourself an artist/ writer/ entrepreneur?

Jade by September Kuromi

So hard!  I want to see a traditional amount of success (i.e. money coming in regularly for my art or clients lined up out the door for consulting) before I feel ‘real’ when I say I am artist/consultant.  I try put positive energy and pride into my work so I feel like I am fulfilling the role I imagine.  But it is so hard.  It is much easier when you are working for someone else and they give you a job description and a title.  Plus, my successes have been slow coming in  – I feel like people won’t believe me when I say “I am artist/consultant” if I take too long to produce results.  But I still do call myself an artist or a consultant – and people seem to believe me.

Crazy wild dreams?
I see all these people, mostly from afar, who glow about their life.  How they wake up everyday and get paid to do the things they love to do.  “Live your passion and the money will follow”.   I want to believe them – they seem real and honest.  But really?  I don’t know anyone personally (well one person: Muse Janet) who actually lives this dream – who is excited, thankful and successful everyday (or most days).  My wildest dream is be successful, influential and loving my work everyday –  I feel a degree of each of these now but I want more.  I continue to build on this and one day I want to feel like I am in the company of these content, successful people I follow.

Favourite quote?
My favourite quote right now is from the Dalai Lama, when asked what surprised him most about humanity, answered

Man. Because he sacrifices his health in order to make money. Then he sacrifices money to recuperate his health. And then he is so anxious about the future that he does not enjoy the present; the result being that he does not live in the present or the future; he lives as if he is never going to die, and then dies having never really lived.

It is making the rounds on Facebook right now – so I feel like I am jumping on a bandwagon, but I truly focus these days on living in the present and I try to honor my body and soul everyday ( or most days)

~~~~~~~~
Thank you, September for your honest sharing.. you’re staying true to your dream and this is so inspiring for others.  Readers, your comments and even answers to the same questions are welcome!

Join us at the Muse A-Fair to see more of September’s inspired works..
from both sides of her life! 

About Janet

Artist/writer with a tall ship and mystical twist, Certified Professional Life Coach (ICA), Master Kaizen-Muse Creativity Coach (KMCC), empowerment workshop leader and creativity group facilitator trainer. Outdoor enthusiast and Tall Ship sailor. Healed from breast cancer using her own tools of play, lightness, creativity, nature, thinking differently and visualization to speed the healing, and ever ever so grateful for all the wondrous people she is surrounded by.

4 responses »

  1. Thanks for the interview Janet. And all the help along the way 🙂

    Reply
  2. What a great interview. I love what you say about lowering your expectations and your crazy wild dreams.

    Reply
  3. You are amazing – you let the walls down and flow

    Reply
  4. Wow September, you have alot going on for sure! I am excited to be sharing space and Muse status with you this Dec. at the Pavillion Theater. I really want to see more of your amazing drawings too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

