RSS Feed

Muse Chelsea-Mae Smith… B.C Bud, you say? (and we aren’t talking ‘buddy’)

Posted on

About The Muse A-Fairian Interviews: 23 inspired people will be hosting a collaborative show, sale, engage, and inspire event Dec 3 and 4 at WCT Pavillion Theatre, Kamloops, BC.  And I’m honoured to interview some of these muses here!

An invite to Chelsea-Mae was all she needed, no questions asked!  Here’s what she has to say!

Chelsea-Mae Smith

I remember when I was three and I painted my partially blind puppy bright blue.  I knew right then and there that I wanted to spread beauty all over the world.  And I haven’t loosened my grip on that dream ever since.

Now, two months from finishing my university degree, with a Major in English and Minor (such a wrong word for something I’m sooo passionate about) in Fine Arts, I feel charged and equipped to “make it”, at least some part of my life, as an artist.

Hell, I’m 21 and have already shown in a variety of galleries, organized my own art openings and booths, and currently have work being sold out of local retail venues.

I LOVE making art to suit people’s needs!  I am a ceramicist, a painter, a sculptor, and a photographer.  I love paper arts, and silk screening, creative writing, and drama.

Currently, I’ve been exploring the idea of culture left in stone, of ceramic artefacts speaking to an era’s sense of values.  In my era, in this country (and more specifically this province) I wanted to combine high art with the love of smoking B.C. and our “B.C. bud” is known for.  And as my sensibility is often abstract, liking complicated things, I pushed the limits of my clay working abilities to make these intricate, bulbous, hilarious, and figurative looking shapes, which ironically you can smoke out of!

As you can guess I have heard and seen a wide variety of commentary on the work that I’m doing, and rather than intimidate or make me feel awkward about this touchy subject matter that is so engrained in our culture, I welcome the conversation and the controversy.  That’s what art is all about: visually stating what you think matters.

I have also recently pushed myself into creating custom works (such as portraits or particular ceramic dishes), and collaborating with someone else’s idea to make real what they’ve been seeing in their imagination.  Nothing so far in life has given me greater pleasure than watching someone joyfully use a piece of my artwork!

So if YOU have an idea for a gift, or a need for your house, and would like to support a local artist in its making, I would LOVE to collaborate in your creation!!  As well as being found on Face book at ‘Chelsea Mae’D’ I can be reached through email at Chelsea.maed@yahoo.com .
I look forward to seeing you at the Muse A-Fair… and be sure to bring your splendiferous imaginations!

Janet: Readers, I know you’ll get to see this look at the Muse A-Fair!   Thanks for being here today, Chelsea-Mae.

About Janet

Artist/writer with a tall ship and mystical twist, Certified Professional Life Coach (ICA), Master Kaizen-Muse Creativity Coach (KMCC), empowerment workshop leader and creativity group facilitator trainer. Outdoor enthusiast and Tall Ship sailor. Healed from breast cancer using her own tools of play, lightness, creativity, nature, thinking differently and visualization to speed the healing, and ever ever so grateful for all the wondrous people she is surrounded by.

4 responses »

  1. Hurray Chels! Looking forward to Musing with you!

    Reply
  2. These blogs were a great idea Janet! and I am getting SOOO excited to Musing with all of you!! Can’t even believe how close it is though…I’m pretty sure I’m masaccistic in my desires to do everything tee hee

    Reply
  3. Whoooaaaa, there’s an ad on my blog!! what the heck!! I thought that wasn’t possible!

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Muse | GIUTAR CHORD and LYRIC SONG

Leave a Reply

