RSS Feed

Messy Bottoms and Breaking the Rules

Posted on

I’m talking about the bottoms of my pottery pots… sometimes messy. The more intricate the design in the pot, the messier the bottoms.  That’s against the general rules that the critics would believe makes a good pot:  MUST. BE. PERFECTLY. Smooth.  Bottoms.

Ya, whatever.   In cross-stitch it’s ‘important’ to have the back side look as clean, almost, as the front side. But what if the front side had some wild and amazing intricate design, but the only technique to do that was to have a lot of knots on the backside?  Do you not bother to create the new and wondrous and wild design to save ‘face’ for the back side?   I hope that wouldn’t be true.  Something stunning wouldn’t happen.   (I know squat about cross stitch.. just creating a scenario here.)

What if a pottery piece was wildly designed with extensive detailed carving, and handbuilt additions? DO YOU KNOW HOW INSANE IT IS to keep a bottom perfectly clean as a billion tiny pieces of clay, while carving, fly like Edward Scissorhand trimming a hedge? Or what about flipping over  that odd shape pot for a final cleaning on the wheel, when the rim it sits on is not symmetrical, and the added pieces would be damaged in the process? Sure I’ll trim the bottoms beautifully before carving begins. But keeping them ideal just doesn’t work.  A wipe, afterward,yes.. but “proper” cleaning, no.

So, I have messy bottoms and dang it, I’m proud of them.  The rules of proper bottoms have had to be broken for the rest of the piece to evolve.

Have you  broken any rules lately?  Ever noticed how ‘must do’s’ in art actually stop you?  Or is the rebel in you inspired when you see a possibility of breaking the rules? And what about ‘rules’ in the rest of your life? I personally have given up on “House must be clean for guests” and trust me, this took many years evolving. Now I figure it’s my job to model imperfection.  ~smile~

What rules would you like to break? Noticing them is a trick in itself when we live by them but we don’t ‘notice’ them consciously.  Once noticed, once we ask ‘do I have to adhere to that rule?” we can usually find some way to justify our breaking the rules that serves that part of us that does appreciate rules.  Like I just justified my messy bottoms and sometimes messy home.  Works for me. What works for you?

About Janet

Artist/writer with a tall ship and mystical twist, Certified Professional Life Coach (ICA), Master Kaizen-Muse Creativity Coach (KMCC), empowerment workshop leader and creativity group facilitator trainer. Outdoor enthusiast and Tall Ship sailor. Healed from breast cancer using her own tools of play, lightness, creativity, nature, thinking differently and visualization to speed the healing, and ever ever so grateful for all the wondrous people she is surrounded by.

2 responses »

  1. I grew up by the rule that the housework had to be done on Saturday, which included wiping all the cupboard doors in the kitchen, cleaning the stove, and washing up the bathroom. I continued that rule in my adult years, until I was about 25. The rule grew to include grocery shopping on Mondays, and laundry on Tuesdays. Then one day I said “scrap that” I’m not doing that any more! It was quite liberating. Nowadays, my bed rarely gets made, I step over the dirty laundry on the floor, and pick my way through the popcorn crumbs throughout my house. Egads, you say, my house must really be a pigsty. Well, yes it is, in “my” mind. But I have other priorities, and when the housework becomes priority, it will get done.

    Reply
    • Oh yes! Once upon a time I had an orderly set of cleaning rules. When i had my girls I realized that I couldn’t put them through that. umm…. but now their husband’s wonder why my girls ‘clean’ the way they do. ha! Thanks for sharing, Linda… thank goodness you do what you do and create what you create.. the world is better for it!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

