RSS Feed

Thoughts the weekend before chemo begins

Posted on

I noticed that breast cancer didn’t come with an administrator as it ought to.  Surely losing my hair will come with a facelift?

This weekend.. especially feeding my soul.

Today: A playdate with my daughters and granddaughters at the Enchanted Forest in the pouring rain. So lovely. My girls don’t say ‘no’ much to me these days.. I took advantage of that to go on this very wet but magical road trip.  Shuswap Pie company was something they wouldn’t have said no to anyway. ~snicker~   Evalee has been wanting to go to Disneyland.. the Enchanted Forest is becoming more and more like Disney.

Adventure included a pause in the forest to breath and call in magic.  And leave little thoughts for the faeries.

Today I explained to Evalee what was happening. I hope I did that okay. She’s going to go with me to get a haircut this week. Ah, sweet children… Life isn’t simple. I will try to make even this fun.  And Lainey? I just hope me losing my hair doesn’t scare her.

Tonight I smudged my home. A whole new healing journey is about to begin. Smudging seemed like an appropriate start.  I did a great job. I am such a darn great smudger.. and I wonder why I don’t ‘get to it’ all that often.  As I smudge I direct all energies that no longer serve us well to leave, and I invite love and other wondrous energy to fill that space. I can feel the gentle shift. Anyone want their home smudged?

Tomorrow I have a plan too. 1. Paddleboard somewhere in the great outdoors. 2. Get clear on my priorities for the next 5 months.   These are key: Heal, Movement, Awareness. Noticing the magic. Feeling the love.   And then there’s the projects!  As a life coach, I know very well how so many projects can ‘sit’ if one doesn’t know which one to begin with. I know  how easy it can be to be overwhelmed. As a person healing, it’s even more important to get clear now.  Simplify. Choose the projects that feel the best and feel do-able. Know I’ll get to others later.

Tomorrow I’ll visualize five months from now. And then hold onto that vision as this unknown, unexpected, unwelcomed process begins. But I concede that that is my logical human self saying all those ‘uns’     I do know there’s so much more to this than a bunch of ‘uns’  … I will stay curious, creative, and bask in the love and support of all around me.  Much to discover. And heck, space to get some projects done!

I’d still be good with some discovery in all my tests that says.. “Oops! Wait! She doesn’t need chemo!”   All this preparation this weekend is good for the soul, anyway. ~smile~

Onward. Yo ho yo ho.

About Janet

Artist/writer with a tall ship and mystical twist, Certified Professional Life Coach (ICA), Master Kaizen-Muse Creativity Coach (KMCC), empowerment workshop leader and creativity group facilitator trainer. Outdoor enthusiast and Tall Ship sailor. Healed from breast cancer using her own tools of play, lightness, creativity, nature, thinking differently and visualization to speed the healing, and ever ever so grateful for all the wondrous people she is surrounded by.

3 responses »

  1. Yesterday i wrote a long comment that had some humor and mildly profound things to say and then I was asked to log in. Lost the whole frickin’ thing and gave up. So I have something cute and magical for you but we’ll see if this works first. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Huzzah! Here is a little ditty for you that incorporates Chemo (only it’s spelled wrong) and Magic ….how appropriate for you today! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WEHGMcJYang

    Reply
    • Oh, I love that!!!! I’m going to post it right in the blog to remind me to watch it sometimes! Thanks Velvet Buttons!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

