RSS Feed

Practising the art of “How can I make this fun?”

Posted on

Today I practise the art of “how can I make this fun?

Taking the granddaughers to help pick out a nice new short haircut so we can all see how ‘fun it is to get a wild haircut and how cute Nana will be when her hair grows back after it’s temporary disappearing act.”

Truth is I AM excited about the haircut part… this will be fun!

I’d contemplated letting Evalee cut it.. what 5 year old kid doesn’t want to cut hair? But I realized she’d be heartbroken if I looked really bad after. Hoping the short  hair now also eases 20 month Lainey into ‘not being scared’ by Nana’s sudden bald head in a couple/few weeks.

Visualizing coming home and posting what a successful event this is..  ~smile~

Later: It was a success! The hairdresser wrapped all the long hair in an elastic and ‘clip!”  Evalee even got to help.  I love my new hair-do. Evalee picked it out.. Less wild than I might have chosen.  Loved seeing how she contemplated choices. Long on one side, shorter on the other.  Umm..I love it so much that I’m less inclined to want to lose it… darn, short is cute. I used to wear it in all varieties of styles. Then one day, I found a shampoo and conditioner that actually let my wild locks grow long less wildly. Isn’t it just so hard to cut long hair once you have it?  I’m looking forward to short and funky – hey maybe I can use the ‘kept’ locks to make a crazy extension on one side.  BECAUSE  who the heck knows what else I’ll do with them.

This is what I wrote on the envelope containing my locks:

“My Hair Cut
It looked much prettier on my head
No, I won’t make it into Christmas Ornaments like I teased, Courtney.
I might do a little magic, though”

About Janet

Artist/writer with a tall ship and mystical twist, Certified Professional Life Coach (ICA), Master Kaizen-Muse Creativity Coach (KMCC), empowerment workshop leader and creativity group facilitator trainer. Outdoor enthusiast and Tall Ship sailor. Healed from breast cancer using her own tools of play, lightness, creativity, nature, thinking differently and visualization to speed the healing, and ever ever so grateful for all the wondrous people she is surrounded by.

Leave a Reply

