RSS Feed

Questions often unanswered; but imagined.. they might be.

Posted on

I’m inspired to write about this right now, because asking myself constantly,  ‘what gives you energy or lifts your spirits or feeds your creative soul?” is supporting me hugely in my healing. I’m practising “Extreme Feed Your Soul” these days. But this doesn’t come easy to people…

When I ask someone what they have planned in their day that will give them energy, (or lift their spirits, or feed their creative soul..) way more often than not, I will hear a sigh and a list of what their day looks like with work, responsibilities, errands, chores, tiredness. lack of sleep. lack of support…. etc etc. And a comment “There’s no time today.”

The next questions might be ‘What can you let go?”  and/or  “If you could fit something in, what would you fit in that gives you energy?”

When the person is being coached, they know the questions are important and they do find answers. They’ve already chosen to find their way to live more fully.

When it’s simply ‘conversation,’ those same questions usually won’t get an answer, except sometimes if I add, ‘Imagine you’ll win a million dollars just for finding those answers.” Usually, though, that elicits thoughts heading only into dreaming of a lottery winning that will ‘save’ them.

Why won’t people generally take a moment to find those answers? Simply.. they are already blocked from thinking of those possibilities by their ‘realistic’ vision of what their life looks like.  Apparently reality really does bite if it stops people from living more fully.

So. Imagine some cool person you respect…  alive or dead or mythical.. calls you up and says “Hey I’m doing a documentary and I’d like you to answer these questions because who you are and what you say matters in the universal scheme of things, whether you think so or not.” They add, “Please don’t dig for something you think is  ‘media’ worthy. Your real answers are the only important ones.”  (Really imagine. Picture that person, their look, voice, demeanor.. on the other end of your phone, or showing up at your door..)  They ask:
1. “What can you let go?”
2. “If you could fit something in, what would you fit in that gives you energy?”

If you aren’t finding answers, think small. Small. Small. Small. Tiny things you can let go of. Tiny energy giving things you can fit in. (Those are more likely the ones that will be acted upon right away, anyway. Promises to ‘do lots’ weigh frighteningly heavy. So whether you found small things, or big things.. I invite you to break them down into really ridiculously small first steps and take that step. It’ll feel good, honest.)

And if it helps to imagine a million dollar gift being handed to you just for answering, go ahead and do that. ~smile~

Finding answers now?

About Janet

Artist/writer with a tall ship and mystical twist, Certified Professional Life Coach (ICA), Master Kaizen-Muse Creativity Coach (KMCC), empowerment workshop leader and creativity group facilitator trainer. Outdoor enthusiast and Tall Ship sailor. Healed from breast cancer using her own tools of play, lightness, creativity, nature, thinking differently and visualization to speed the healing, and ever ever so grateful for all the wondrous people she is surrounded by.

4 responses »

  1. Thank you Janet…i have just been thinking about this very thing for me…i recently took a different job- the “dream job” that I thought I wanted forever- and while its rewarding in its own way…i have been thinking about what I need to do to bring some energy and creativity back into my days…i have started meditating, which I find surprisingly helpful, and was just this morning, considering a full schedule of clients, and wondering about how to arrange my schedule so I don’t feel drained at the end- so the first client and the last client are receiving the same care, but also so I am feeling just as creative… what can I let go of? I think I need to put an hour in my schedule for notes everyday to alleviate that stress… I also thought that I need to re-center myself in some clay again… i am missing clay…that feeds my soul. It has been on the edge of my consciousness lately- that I need to pot. Your post brought it to the forefront…i need to pot. Thank you 🙂

    Reply
    • Ah, yes the call of the clay. Thanks for sharing your thoughts. AND IF, you don’t get to the clay right away… would you play with a bit of playdough, or simply roll some clay in your hands for a few minutes? That’s how small we can go to feel that connect we are missing. ~smiling~

      Reply
  2. those are great questions to ponder.I would fit in meditation and I would let go of negative self talk…….the mind chatter that goes on and on when there is stress in ones life

    Reply
    • Sometimes it helps to create a character for the ‘negative self talker’ .. imagine what she/he looks like, give them a name. Then it’s easier to notice that negative talker and to tell them to take a break. ~smile~

      Reply

Leave a Reply

