RSS Feed

Best compliment ever on anything on the top of my head…

Posted on

“My hair is trying to grow back, Evalee,” I said to my 5 year old granddaughter as she curled up beside me.

“Oh, let’s see,” she said and I pulled off the 24- hour- a- day- touque- because- oh- my- goodness- my- head- gets- chilly- these- days.

She reached over and rubbed my head and announced,

“It feels just like my fuzzy, see?” and she handed me her ‘fuzzy’ aka ‘silky’ aka ‘5 year old silky blankie that has had a whole lotta love.’

It does feel like her fuzzy.  But the best part of all was that she could relate my head to something she loves so much.

I think one of the hardest parts of being bald has been watching her work so hard to make me feel okay, when you could see in her eyes that it wasn’t easy for her.  At first, she didn’t want to see my bald head, but when she decided too, she’d tell me over and over things like, “But your eyes look even nicer now.”

And we’ve tried to have a bit of fun with this bald head… as you can see in the photo when Evalee painted my head last month: the result of an impromptu ‘how can we make this funny?” kind of moment. (note: There’s the sun, ‘fringes’, jewels, and an entire ocean wrapped around my head!)

Her announcement today likening my hair to her fuzzy came totally naturally… and it totally warmed my heart. And this bit of fuzz on my head, as funny looking as it is, makes me smile now.

Thank you, precious peanut, Evalee.

About Janet

Artist/writer with a tall ship and mystical twist, Certified Professional Life Coach (ICA), Master Kaizen-Muse Creativity Coach (KMCC), empowerment workshop leader and creativity group facilitator trainer. Outdoor enthusiast and Tall Ship sailor. Healed from breast cancer using her own tools of play, lightness, creativity, nature, thinking differently and visualization to speed the healing, and ever ever so grateful for all the wondrous people she is surrounded by.

4 responses »

  1. Hi Janet,

    Amazing story and I love the picture.
    I think of you ever single day and send positive, loving, healing thoughts.
    We must get together soon.
    Love Shell
    xoxoox

    Reply
  2. Love this picture and love your story of ur granddaughter …. Precious 🙂
    Take care of you,
    Hugs!

    Reply
  3. Such a beautiful thing. Children can be so amazing when we least expect it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

