RSS Feed

Learning to Sail a Tall Ship. Really. A Real One.

Posted on

Seven more sleeps and I sail the seven seas. Okay, no, not all seven… but a part of the coast of California is plenty of a dream come true for me….as you can imagine if you know me or have followed my posts for a bit.

I get to train as a sailor on the magnificent Tall Ship, Lady Washington. My life has been full of preparing, planning, and learning things like clews, rigging knives, marlinspikes, and fortmistays’ls. (And I did spell that wrong… sure proof of what a beginner I be!) My life has also been full of selling my home and moving in a 3 week period. I have so much to say as I experience preparing for this dream come true adventure…but it’s been a little busy around here!

I do hope to share the journey with you. The scary, the anticipation, the “Am I crazy?”, the calling in the bravery, the ‘oh my god, I’m really going to do this!”, the “I am so blessed,” but for now, I wanted to share a beautiful video of a journey the Lady Washington and her crew took when she went to the Caribbean to play HMS Interceptor in the Pirates of the Caribbean: Curse of the Black Pearl.  I notice her masts are really really really tall… (eek? No, I can do this. I can do this. I can do this.) Enjoy, my friends:

About Janet

Artist/writer with a tall ship and mystical twist, Certified Professional Life Coach (ICA), Master Kaizen-Muse Creativity Coach (KMCC), empowerment workshop leader and creativity group facilitator trainer. Outdoor enthusiast and Tall Ship sailor. Healed from breast cancer using her own tools of play, lightness, creativity, nature, thinking differently and visualization to speed the healing, and ever ever so grateful for all the wondrous people she is surrounded by.

6 responses »

  1. Shelley Haslett

    Janet, I just watched. Wow – OK, how long are you gone for? I am sooo excited for you!!

    xoxoxoox Shell ___________________________________ Make today great – you deserve it!! Shelley Haslett – Mary Kay Senior Sales Director!! Phone: (250) 503-0009 or toll free 1-800-780-3569 Check out my Mary Kay Website at http://www.marykay.ca/shaslett

    Reply
  2. Super Cool. Arghh Have fun matie. Enjoy your experience. See you around port. Diane

    Reply
  3. Paula's Paradise

    I love this! So cool. Have fun … xx!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

