RSS Feed

Onion Satire and My Crazy Tiny Heritage Log Cabin Home. How did I get here?

Posted on

Some things just must be shared and this is one of them:
Find The Thing You’re Most Passionate About, Then Do It On Nights And Weekends For The Rest Of Your Life
By David Ferguson

http://www.theonion.com/articles/find-the-thing-youre-most-passionate-about-then-do,31742/?ref=auto

I hope you read it. It’s brilliantly funny. And once you do, you’ll understand when I say this is why I went into recreation and leisure management many years ago… in the hopes that someone might recognize their recreation and leisure time as having potential to be much more a part of their life. Then life coaching came along as a profession and I went there… because snippets of what you love in a week or a month or a year, is just not enough.

~~~~

cabinAnd so, staying true to what I love…Yes, I’m living in a log cabin. I moved in last week. It’s 160 years old.. the oldest heritage building in our community… cozy and sweet inside with 400 square feet of room for my projects, written works and art works.  It’s on a small farm, near the river where I can paddleboard. And a bonus; it’s a very cool experience for the grandchildren when they visit.

It is a bizarre yet extraordinary thing how visioning can make things happen. I’ve wanted to try simplified tiny house living. I wanted the option to be near water, yet close enough to town that my family and muse friends aren’t far away. And I wanted ‘cheap’ so I could get myself back on my financial feet.  And so here I am.  Even I am surprised I am living here; I was not actively looking, but I was imagining.  A friend heard about it and told me.  Visioning is like that.

A cabin has always been my place to really make things happen.  The timing is perfect; I’m feeling well. I have written works galore from the past couple of years to fine tune and get out there. I have what I hope are inspiring, fun, quirky courses and discovery books just waiting to be shared. I’m delighted to be doing personal coaching again and from this sweet little place. The pottery studio doesn’t fit, but it’s all safely stored for ‘down the road’ but the paints and creative play stuff fills shelves where others might put things like.. dishes, or food.

The last few years have been a knock-down, get-back-up, wild ride… mentally, physically, emotionally, soulfully, and financially.  Wild. Did I mention wild? But being aloft furling sails on a tall ship… well, that will always remind that getting back up includes ‘nothing is impossible.’  And this cabin just happening to be available… reminds me that the Universe is looking out for me.  And now I get  dedicated time in nature to get my creative and career dreams back in gear.  Life is Good. Crazy. Wild. Bizarre. Pretty Amazing.

The whole point of this post? Keep imagining. Make those vision boards. Dream. Trust. Do more of what you love. Take small steps in that direction. Say Yes to opportunities. Know that nothing is impossible.

About Janet

Artist/writer with a tall ship and mystical twist, Certified Professional Life Coach (ICA), Master Kaizen-Muse Creativity Coach (KMCC), empowerment workshop leader and creativity group facilitator trainer. Outdoor enthusiast and Tall Ship sailor. Healed from breast cancer using her own tools of play, lightness, creativity, nature, thinking differently and visualization to speed the healing, and ever ever so grateful for all the wondrous people she is surrounded by.

12 responses »

  1. For quite some time I have believed the sky is the limit, you only have to reach high and far enough and I believe you can almost attain anything your little heart desires within reason.
    You have met your pie in the sky, have fun, be creative and most of all love life.
    Although we have not spent a lot of time together, you have over the years not been far from my thoughts.

    Reply
  2. This is such a great post! I am feeling suddenly hopeful again. Thank you! Your little cottage looks dreamy!

    Reply
    • Aw, Kim, I’m happy this nudged your hopeful self! Wishing you all good things your way.

      The cabin is adorable.. it’s funny, though, I was just thinking (as I walked to the beach 2 minutes away!) that the cabin is inexpensive because, although so many people I know would love this, it is a small percentage of the world, so demand isn’t high! Lucky for me.

      Reply
  3. (Lin Shukla here! ^_^ ) This is a wonderful post, Janet. And it hits me just at the right time. Visioning I shall do! x

    Reply
  4. Well, its funny when I think of the particular changes I have wished for, desired or sent out to the Universe over the last year and a half. Then I look around me, after this somewhat bizarre (never would have done this a few years ago) move and I realize it has many of the things I was clear about ie a certain amount more on my biweekly paycheck, close enough to work to not need a vehicle, a climate more moderate than Kamloops’ extreme temparatures, a less stressful work place and a more modern and convenient living space….Voila!! I can walk anywhere on this island nearly 5 mins to work, its only snowed two or three times here since I moved in Jan 06th, the mod cons in my home plus a big adventure. To be completely honest I could have designed it a little closer to home but then it wouldn’t be such an adventure LOL…be careful what you wish for or be clearer and more precise. 🙂

    Reply
    • Spoken the words that can legitimately scare people from visioning:..”Be careful what you wish for” ! I do know how strange it is how things come to be. My vision book of a few years ago almost all came to be, but you also know the route that few years has taken! Part way in, as I saw what was happening, I created a front page with “Healthy healthy healthy me” all over it! But.. finding our way to trust that all is as it is meant to be does take away the pressure. After all, if all isn’t what it is meant to be, we’d be doing something different somewhere else, yes? I am happy for you, Buttons. I’d love for you to be closer, but I’m happy to hear of all the wonderful things that have come to life for you!!

      Reply
      • Yes, I know that phrase has negative overtones but this has happened to me more than once where I have created specific things with deficits so now I think I have learned to be more clear. I am already redesigning the future with more clarity (as the Creator chuckles at that one). What would life be without surprises anyway and yes we are where we are meant to be for sure. I don’t know if you saw my son Adam’s EP that I shared but that was such an amazing synchronistic event for his band to be offered McGill School of Music’s recording studio and a student to edit their recording for his final project. The end result is really good. I will share it again soon and if you see it have a listen. I feel that Adam and I willed it too happen along with the other brilliant guitarists of course LOL

      • Wow… I will go look for it! Meanwhile let’s enjoy creative clarity!

      • This is such wonderful news…. I didn’t see the share about Adam’s EP.. will go look!!! Keep us updated!! And way to create life, Buttons!

  5. I was just meaning how true that phrase can be.. as you know… but how scary it feels to people so it doesn’t get talked about. You’re brave mentioning it! Wow to your son, will go look for the post.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

