RSS Feed

I was a left-brain person, once upon a time

Posted on

Many years ago,  I was rather left brained.  Even as a kid, the only very obvious sign of my rightbrainedness was my involvement in ‘higher risk’ individual sports but who knew then that that was right brain* process?  In fact when I was a kid, the theory was still that the right brain served no purpose.  Really.

What was curious however, was that I was always an advocate for the creative soul, the artist and the adventurers. This showed up in high school, and really played out in my job as a recreation and community coordinator – evolving in me becoming the arts coordinator.. simply, I suppose, because I cared so much.

Then I took up pottery and all hell broke loose.  Slowly but surely, my beautiful meticulous handwriting shifted to illegible.  My organization skills remained good, but my satisfaction in doing that dwindled.   I got involved in building a major skatepark.. because hanging with skaters and their way of thinking, I could relate to.

Magic happened. Seriously. Magic. Synchronicities. Messages from the universe. The creative process became my way to get through tragedies and losses. It became my ‘meditation.’

The point of this post? Never underestimate the power of the creative process. It’s there for you. At any age. No matter who you think you are based on earlier in your life, or even now.  Worth testing out what more time spent creatively might mean for you, don’t you think?

About Janet

Author and artist with a tall ship and mystical twist, Certified Professional Life Coach (ICA), Master Creativity Coach (KMCC), Curator/owner of Writerly Kits, workshop leader and creativity group facilitator trainer. Author: 'Beyond All Imaginings'- a magical memoir. (on Amazon, if you are keen, or contact me for a signed copy) Outdoor enthusiast and Tall Ship sailor. Been through breast cancer and found her own tools of play, lightness, creativity, nature, thinking differently and visualization assisted healing through and after treatments. Ever ever so grateful for all the wondrous people she is surrounded by.

Leave a comment