RSS Feed

Oops. Sorry. Please open this current post for a gift

Posted on

Dear Musing Along subscribers whom I am ever so grateful for,

I’m so proud of myself for going through drafts on my blog and publishing the ones I do want to keep, in preparation to download my blog just for safekeeping. But, damn, I realize now you actually are all getting inundated with these posts and I apologize. I mean, did you really want to read my meanderings of going through treatment for cancer 10 years ago that I had never published because it seemed ‘too much’ to put out there? Sure, there’s some timeless posts on creativity too, but really. I’m sorry. And here’s the thing, I’m not done yet. And I honestly cannot find a way to not send them to you. I’ll keep trying, though.


So, here’s a gift for you -some soul soothing creative play!

I’ve often shared this technique with kids, coaching clients, and friends. Many of you are absolutely aware of the power of the creative mind to destress, bring clarity and answers, and to reignite our inner playful kid. Others of you may have your doubts.

However, if you need a little break from the craziness of the world, and the craziness going on in your mind, take 5 minutes and try this:

1. Get out some paper, pencils or pens.

2. Set timer for 1 minute. Sketch the first image. Badly is ideal.

3. Set timer for 1 minute and sketch next image.

4. Continue to sketch all 5 images.

NOTE: perfectionism will stop many of you from trying this. That is why they are 1 minute sketches. There is NO time for perfect, and you are retraining your brain to play creatively without all the brain babbling that can get in the way.

You can make them 2 minute sketches – but much more than that may trigger the perfectionism, or ‘the I’m not an artist’, or all that silly naysaying that can get in the way of the experience.

About Janet

Author and artist with a tall ship and mystical twist, Certified Professional Life Coach (ICA), Master Creativity Coach (KMCC), Curator/owner of Writerly Kits, workshop leader and creativity group facilitator trainer. Author: 'Beyond All Imaginings'- a magical memoir. (on Amazon, if you are keen, or contact me for a signed copy) Outdoor enthusiast and Tall Ship sailor. Been through breast cancer and found her own tools of play, lightness, creativity, nature, thinking differently and visualization assisted healing through and after treatments. Ever ever so grateful for all the wondrous people she is surrounded by.

Leave a comment